

Evening Concert Series

2013-2014 Season

Sara M. Snell Music Theater

Wednesday, October 30, 7:30 PM

Crane Percussion Ensemble James Petercsak, Conductor/Director

Featuring,

World Premiere of Percussion Symphony No. 2 by Daniel Kessner Molly Jones, xylophone soloist **Interplay Percussion Quartet** Paul Pearl, drum set soloist

> This concert is dedicated to Elliot A. DelBorgo and Remo D. Belli

Downfall of Paris Fanfare (2013 version)

Arr. and directed by Sean Lucas

(b. 1991)

Preludio for Percussion (1978)

Elliot A. DelBorgo (1938-2013)

Percussion Symphony No. 2 for eight players (2013)

Daniel Kessner

(b. 1946)

Andante con moto

II. Scherzetto; presto leggerissimo

III. Double Chorale

Zia Suite

IV. Allegro con forza

World Premiere

Paul Steinberg

for Percussion Ensemble and Electronic tape (2006)

(b. 1946)

Interlude

Triplets (1924)

George Hamilton Green (1893–1970) Arr. by Bob Becker

Molly Jones, xylophone soloist Crane Marimba Band

Quad Helix (2007)

Owen Clayton Condon (b. 1978)

Interplay Percussion Quartet Alex Durr, Sean Lucas, Kyle Peters, Andres Vahos

Concerto for Drum Set and Percussion Ensemble (2002)

Greg Runions (b. 1956)

Paul Pearl, drum set soloist Chip Lamson, piano Jarod Grieco, bass Derek Yukna, guitar

Remo D. Belli, founder and CEO of Remo Incorporated, is the world's leading producer of drum heads and hand percussion instruments and the primary supporter of the Percussive Arts Society. Remo is a longtime friend and inspiration. He is a music industry visionary.

Elliott A. DelBorgo was a friend, colleague, master teacher and world class composer who passed away on May 30, 2013.

Daniel Kessner was born in Los Angeles in 1946. He studied with Henri Lazarof at the University of California Los Angeles, where he received his Ph.D. with Distinction in 1971. He is currently Emeritus Professor of Music at California State University, Northridge, where he taught composition and theory from 1970 through 2006. He maintains an active career as composer, flutist, and conductor.

Percussion Ensemble Personnel

Alex Bick Brandon Bromsey Joe Connors Alex Durr Mike Gentile Sam Genovesi Joe Geraci Molly Jones Sarah Hill Charlie Kalet Sean Lucas Matt McGrath Chris O'Reilly Paul Pearl Kyle Peters Jeremy Price Dhane Redmond Mike Rosenberg Alec Sisco John Snell Geoffrey Snow Ian Taggart Logan Turner Andres Vahos Kassandra Voigt

In order to ensure a pleasant concert experience for both performers and audience, please refrain from:

- Entering or leaving during the performance.
- Bringing food or drink into the concert hall.
- Taking flash photographs.
- Using electronic devices (please completely turn off any devices that make sounds or have glowing screens).

Children who are able to sit quietly during the performance are welcome to our concerts.

Audio/video recording of performances is strictly prohibited without permission of the performers!

Thank you!

In Case of Fire Emergency

Leave the building immediately by walking to the nearest safe exit. Once outside, please move fifty feet away from the building and safely away from emergency traffic. Do not return to the building until authorities indicate that it is safe to do so.