

Evening Concert Series

2008-2009 Season

Tuesday, November 4 Sara M. Snell Music Theater 7:30 PM

Crane Percussion Ensemble

Dedicated to the Memory of Henry Adler James Petercsak, Conductor/Director Aiyun Huang, Guest Soloist Patrick Burke, Guest Conductor

Blue Rhythm Quintet for Gene Krupa (1972) Anthony Korf

Patrick Burke, Guest Conductor

Octaphonics (1977)	Murray Houllif
Wired for Percussion Quartet (2004)	Lynn Glassock
Limerick Daydreams (2005)	Nathan Daughtrey
Interlude	
In Gottes Gärten schweigen die Engel (In God's gardens the angels grow silent) for six percussionists (2006)	Brian Cherney
Aiyun Huang, Soloist	
Bonham for John "Bonzo" Bonham (1998)	Christopher Rouse

In order to ensure a pleasant concert experience for both performers and audience, please refrain from:

- Entering or leaving during the performance.
- Bringing food or drink into the concert hall.
- Taking flash photographs.
- Using electronic devices (please remember to turn off your cellular phone, pagers and watches that chime on the hour).

Children who are able to sit quietly during the performance are welcome to our concerts.

Tape/video recording of performances is strictly prohibited without permission of the performers!

Thank you!

Henry Adler, Drummer/Percussionist (1915-2008)

Henry Adler, teacher, friend, and inspiration to so many of us, passed away September 29, 2008 at the age of 93. Thanks from all of us, Henry, we appreciate all your contributions and guidance, your help and constant love.

Aiyun Huang, Soloist

Aivun Huang was winner of the First Prize as well as the Audience Aware at the 2002 Geneva International Music Competition; the first prize in percussion has been awarded only three times in the competition's history. She has appeared at the Weill Recital Hall, Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra's Green Umbrella Series, LACMA Concert Series, Holland Festival, Victoria Hall in Geneva, Agora Festival in Paris, Banff Arts Festival, 7éme Biennale d'Art Contemporaine de Lyon, Vancouver New Music Festival, CBC Radio, La Jolla Summerfest, Musik 3, Scotia Festival, Centro Nacional Di Las Artes in Mexico City, and National Concert Hall and Theater in Taipei. In 2004, she gave a solo European tour in the cities of Paris, Geneva, Lyon, Budapeset, and Milan. In both 2007 and 2008, she was a featured percussionist at the international Cool Drummings Festival in Toronto. She has performed as a soloist with National Symphony Orchestra of Taiwan, La Jolla Symphony and Brott Academy Orchesetra. Between 1997 and 2006, she was a member of red fish blue fish under the direction of Steven Schick. She is a founding member of Canadian new music group Toca Loca with pianists Gregory Oh and Simon Docking.

She has commissioned and championed works in the last decade by working with composers from the America, Europe and Asia. Besides working with composers and performing new music, she is a researcher at CIRMMT. Her current research include a three-year DVD recording program titled "Save Percussion Theatre: Documentation from Performer's Perspective" funded through FQRSC as well as "Expanded Musical Practice interdisciplinary Approaches to Live Electronics in Composition, Performance and Technology" through SSCHRC.

Aiyun was born in Kaohsiung, a city in the sourthern part of Taiwan. She left Taiwan when she was seventeen to pursue her love for music. Aiyun holds DMA degree from the University of Californjia, San Diego. Between 2004 and 2006, she was a Faculty Fellow at UCSSD. Currently, she is the Chair of the Percussion Area as well as director of the McGill Percussion Ensemble at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University in Montreal, Canada.

Percussion Ensemble Personnel

Michael Alfieri Christopher Battles Scott Bergersen Jessica Bogart Sergio Bonsignore Christopher Brickley Zachary Browning Patrick Burke Christopher Capurso Matthew Christy Adam Conforti **Benjamin** Daniels Matthew Dintrone Joshua Emanuel Sarah Gilbert Alison Grovine Darryl Kniffen

Brett Lupi Michael Murray Christopher Natke Joe Parker Rvan Pickard Dan Rabinaw Jay Sager Samuel Sherman Colin Shields Ben Smith Kylie Stenger Andrew Stortz Kyle Tupper Kevin Urvalek Chad Weinheimer DavidWood