Underage Drinking Felony Law
State law in New Mexico now makes it a felony to provide alcohol to anyone under the age of 21.
Thousands of Italian-Americans, Greek-Americans, Portuguese-Americans, Spanish-Americans, Jews, priests, physicians, and others are breaking the law. These good citizens are doing this by maintaining their cultural traditions of serving all members of the family alcohol beverages with dinner, by conducting Kiddush and other religious services involving young people under the age of 21, by serving wine to celebrants under the age of 21 during Holy Mass, or by prescribing medications containing alcohol to patients under the age of 21.
These and other lawbreakers can be sentenced to 18 months in prison and fined $5,000 for their violations.
New Mexico Mothers Against Drunk Driving strongly supports the law, which it says will now cause such violators to be “held accountable for their crime.”
- Perea, Mary. Higher penalties for supplying alcohol to minors takes effect. Albuquerque Journal, June 30, 2004; Penalties increase for supplying alcohol to minors under new law. KOB TV (Channel 4, Albuquerque, NM), June 30, 2004.
filed under: [pending]
Need help with an alcohol or drug problem?
Someone at the highly effective St. Jude program can help you.